Sen. Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.) announced on Monday that she will object to electoral college votes when lawmakers gather for a joint session in Congress on Jan. 6.

“Elections are the bedrock of our democracy and the American people deserve to be 100% confident in our election system and its outcomes. But right now, tens of millions of Americans have real concerns about the way in which the November Presidential election was conducted—and I share their concerns,” she said in a statement.

“The American people deserve a platform in Congress, permitted under the Constitution, to have election issues presented so that they can be addressed,” she added. “That’s why, on January 6th, I will vote to give President Trump and the American people the fair hearing they deserve and support the objection to the Electoral College certification process.”

Loeffler noted that she has introduced legislation she’s seeking to pass in the Senate to establish a commission to investigate election irregularities and recommend measures to ensure election integrity.

“We must restore trust, confidence and integrity in our election system,” Loeffler said.

Loeffler joins another 12 senators and senators-elect in objecting Electoral college votes on Jan. 6.

Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) this week was the first senator to announce he would object, later followed by 11 more GOP senators: Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), and Mike Braun (R-Ind.), as well as Sens.-elect Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), and Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.).

Leave a Comment